This Is Not My Home

It’s been a while since blogging. The last post was in 2013. . .not a very good blogger I will admit. But to be honest, I believe that it’s time to pick it back up.

Just to update you, Darin and I moved to Savannah, Georgia in 2013 and believe me when I tell you, it has been a ride. New residence, new jobs, new church and all not without its own craziness.

At times we feel like Abraham “a foreigner passing through”. Now I have to blame my parents for this. You see they had the gull to raise me in a Bible believing, church doors open we are there, walk the walk talk the talk family. They ingrained in me the importance of solid biblical teaching and remaining faithful. So when hardships come, I fix my eyes on the price , I run the race with confidence that God will deliver and be glorified.

My goal is three-fold:

  1. To be an encouragement to those going through the same challenges
  2. To get some advice from others who have walked through the valley
  3. To learn together, using the Word of God, to overcome

Lesson #1: Heaven is Home

Hebrews 13:14 “For this world is not our permanent home; we are looking forward to a home yet to come.”

The weekend we moved to Savannah, the search began. We needed to find a body of believers and get to work. We attended every church in the area with every style of worship you could imagine. Big congregations, tiny congregations, friendly congregations, not so friendly congregations. You name it we witnessed it. Most of the preaching styles were  “self-help” and “God loves you just the way you are”. There was on accountability, no repentance, no faithfulness being taught. Needless to say we were quite discouraged. Eventually our search came to an end due to the frustration of looking. The  motto of this congregation, “A Church You Can All Home”. To be honest this slogan bothered me, but I chose to look past the implication and ignore that I know is not true.  Home is not the world and is definitely not the church. It seems that our focus is on feeling comfortable. Let’s face it when I’m at home I do whatever we want.  I can clean or not clean, can wear pajamas all day, eat whatever and whenever.  I fear that most of our churches are like that today. We want people to feel “at home”. We are afraid to offend, correct or discipline. The sad result of this is that we are not equipping people to break the chains of sin. We are not being forthright with them, teaching the importance of repentance. We have created congregations full of sinners comfortable in their sin, instead of a congregation full of sinners with circumcised hearts.  If we look to heaven as our permanent dwelling place, then we will strive to overcome sin instead of being indifferent to it.

Melinda

eternal-realities-heaven-or-hell-theres-more-to-this-life

Leave a Reply

